Meeting Angela Davis

I don’t know about you but whenever I get close to a celebrity (which has only been like 3 times) so when I had the chance to meet Angela Davis I FREAKED OUT!!! She is a very sweet, humble, and down to earth person; and I felt so honored to have met her especially since I wrote a report about her during my undergrad. She came to De Anza College to give a talk on Thursday April 16, and the auditorium was so packed unlike I have ever seen it before. There were people sitting in the aisles, on the stairs, and standing up; there was barely any room to walk.

IMG_3642If you’ve had the chance to hear Angela Davis speech then you already know how amazing she is. Just listening I felt like I was in a trance being whisked away by the sound of her voice, amazing stories, and great sense of humor. I walked away with changed views, different perspectives, and with an inner fire in myself. She spoke on the prison industrial complex, immigration, class system, and her answer to all of these issues was to start with education. A moment that stood out to me was during the Q&A part, when a student said he never heard of her before and thought she was amazing speaker (he wasn’t born in America) She responded by saying she doesn’t care if people know her or not, she doesn’t do speaking for the fame, but to bring awareness to the issues.IMG_3640

If you don’t know who Angela Davis is then here is a quick summary about her.

Angela Yvonne Davis was born January 26, 1944, she is a  political activist, scholar, author. . She is a retired professor with the History of Consciousness Department at the University of California, Santa Cruz, and a former director of the university’s Feminist Studies department. Angela Davis was arrested, charged, tried, and acquitted of conspiracy in the 1970 armed take-over of a Marin County courtroom, in which four persons died. She went on the run and became the 3rd woman and 309th person on the FBI’s most wanted list by J. Edgar Hoover. After her arrest and imprisonment the Free Angela Davis movement swopped the world. Most people say she was a member of the Black Panther Party but that is a common misconception, because she was not officially a member however she worked with the party. I’m still in disbelief that I got to meet Angela Davis! now I can die happy lol.IMG_3637

Leave a Reply

