De Young

When I walk into a museum it gives me such an adrenaline rush seeing all the exhibits like I’m on a roller coaster ride, and when its over I need to go to another one lol museums are my own type of personal drug(if that makes sense lol). This Saturday I got to go the De Young Museum in San Francisco and see the Keith Haring exhibit The Political Line. I’m not sure if the exhibit is very popular,because it was a Saturday, or because there was 1 week left for this exhibit  but the line to get in and buy tickets was the longest line of my life lol. IMG_3378 IMG_3380 I knew absolutely nothing about him before walking into this exhibit and I left a little knowledgeable yet still confused about what I saw. I know that his particular style was the stick figure people but I thought that every piece looked the same for different political or social issues, so I found it hard to find the messages in his works. What took me by surprise was his images of sex and how many penises I saw and the sexual positions that they were drawn in. I finally figured out that he was gay by the 4th room lol (I know I had a late reaction). I was more concerned when I saw that parents brought their kids to see it lol!! I personally think there were to many penises in that exhibit for kids to see. I enjoyed walking through each room and seeing how his style changed during his career, and what influenced him.

IMG_3384

of course thing would be my favorite piece out of the whole entire show

Overall I thought it was a good exhibit and something new I got to see. I’ve never been the type of person to look at a piece of art and know exactly what the artist is trying to say and if it takes me to long I get pissed and give me up lol(I’m working on my patience with art especially contemporary). I can’t wait to back to the De Young museum and see the next exhibit. IMG_3381

Leave a Reply

